The Definitive Guide to
Answers for (almost) all things digital.
Why should I measure my digital results?
It’s all about the analytics, baby! As mentioned above, a huge advantage to the digital marketing space is easy access to so much glorious data. Why do we geek out over this? Because it provides an opportunity to demonstrate ROI and confirm your efforts are bringing value to the organization. And if you’re a business owner who is scrupulous with every cent (respect!), or a marketing leader that needs to justify spending in a tangible way to the executive team (oh, been there) – sweet, sweet analytics help you accomplish that.
In addition to quantifying value, keeping your fingers on the pulse of your data is crucial to adjusting mid-course for maximum impact. When launching a campaign, relentlessly stalk your analytics to see what’s working and what isn’t. Double down on the tactics that are moving the needle, and for those that are flopping, PIV-OT to something else.
How do I measure my digital results?
There is no shortage of measurement options these days. Social networks have analytics accessible within the platform themselves that you can use to view and export basic data. And to dig deeper, there are several individual add-on analytics tools available. For an aggregate view of multiple social media platforms, including website integration data, consider inbound marketing software offerings from businesses like Hubspot.
Here are some basics of what you should be tracking across different channels, as each metric provides valuable insight:
- Number of followers
- Post frequency, timing, reach and impressions
- Post content performance
- Video views
- Click-through rates
- Overall tone/sentiment
- Email sign ups
- Offer downloads
- Email open rates
- Visit-to-lead conversion rate
- Lead-to-customer conversion rate
- Website traffic
- Blog traffic
- Campaign results
How do I report digital marketing ROI?
ROI is calculated by dividing the return or benefit of an investment by the cost of the investment itself. For example, if you spend $2,000 on a social media campaign that generates a $10,000 return, you have a 4:1 or 400 percent return on investment. You can calculate ROI for individual tactics and channels, and as an aggregate department number as the situation dictates.